« Back to Events
This event has passed.
University of Nevada, Reno Foundation Banquet with CNN’s Wolf Blitzer
September 18, 2013 6:00 pm
University Events
(775) 682-6014
August 27, 2013
Tuscany Ballroom at the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
(775) 682-6014
2707 S Virginia St Reno, NV 89502, Reno

Established in 1981 as a fundraising event for the University of Nevada, Reno Foundation, the Foundation Banquet is the premier social event in the community. Keynote speakers for the banquet are of the highest caliber and are widely respected in their fields and around the world.

The University of Nevada, Reno Foundation is pleased to announce Emmy award-winning journalist Wolf Blitzer as the keynote speaker for its 32nd Annual Foundation Banquet. Wolf Blitzer is the anchor of CNN’s The Situation Room, CNN’s innovative, fast-paced political news program. Blitzer is also known for his in-depth reporting on international news – covering everything from the first Gulf War to his rare visit to North Korea. He was CNN’s senior White House Correspondent from 1992 until 1999 and has interviewed some of recent history’s most notable figures such as former presidents Bill Clinton and Ronald Reagan.

The banquet will be held Wednesday, September 18, in the Tuscany Ballroom at the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino. It begins with a no-host cocktail reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and program at 7 p.m. Tickets are $200 each or $2,000 for a table. Event sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information, contact Julie Gillen in University Events at (775) 682-6014.

Proudly sponsored by the E.L. Cord Foundation
Also sponsored by The Thelma B. and Thomas P. Hart Foundation, Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, Barrick Gold of North America, Ann Carlson, NV Energy, McDonald Carano Wilson, Reno Gazette Journal

The roster of past speakers of the University of Nevada, Reno Foundation Banquet includes:

1981 Gerald Ford 1997 Bill Cosby
1982 John Chancellor 1998 Bob Newhart
1983 Alexander Haig 1999 Sam Donaldson
1984 Sander Vanocur 2000 Brain Mulroney
1985 Peter Ueberroth 2001 Madame Jehan Sadat
1986 Arkady Shevchenko 2002 Cokie Roberts
1987 Jeane Kirkpatrick 2003 Fred Thompson
1988 Tip O’Neill 2004 Jeff Greenfield
1989 James R. Schlesinger 2005 Thomas Friedman
1990 Beverly Sills 2006 Benazir Bhutto
1991 Alex Haley 2007 George F. Will
1992 Art Buchwald 2008 Forrest Sawyer
1993 Jack Kemp 2009 Atul Gawande
1994 Dave Barry 2010 Buzz Aldrin
1995 Mark Russell 2011 Steven D. Levitt
1996 Charles Osgood 2012 Charles Duhigg